How can I help?

SWEET TEA AND SECRETS is out and I’ve been having so much fun meeting folks in different towns and sharing my story. I’ve been overwhelmed by the thoughtfulness and generosity being extended to me – a debut novelist. Almost everyone I’ve talked to asks, “What can I do to help?”

But just last weekend I was chatting with another author and she confided that although her reviews were great, sales weren’t so swift. She was worried. I said, “What can I do to help?”

That’s when it struck me. People don’t just say that…we really do want to help.

There are some quick and easy things you can do to help any of your favorite authors. Here goes…

1- Share the news. Yes. Believe it or not in this highly technical world word-of-mouth is still the way most people find new authors-through recommendations from someone they trust.

2- Your opinion matters. Leave a review on amazon.com or your favorite bookseller site. While your at it – if you look at he bottom of every amazon page there should be a list of what they call TAGS. These are words that categorize the book. For example, for Sweet Tea and Secrets the tags are

  • love story
  • small town
  • southern
  • romantic suspense
  • family secrets

You get the idea. By clicking on the tags you agree with … this helps amazon pick the books that fit their readers buying habits. It could help me pop up on your page one day as a recommendation!

3- Click LIKE. Easy as pie, but clicking LIKE on the amazon or Barnes & Noble page makes a first impression to others that land there.

4- Pass it on. I don’t know a single author who doesn’t have stacks of bookmarks and postcards. If you have a group you belong to, or busines that serves the public – offer to pass them out or leave them for the taking. Any of us will be happy to drop a stack in the mail to you!

5- Be a social butterfly. Tweet, facebook or spread it on LinkedIn. Your friends will appreciate the note and think of you fondly as they relax with that good book.

Helping an author is great, and being an author and getting your book out to the public is pretty awesome. In fact, it’s a dream come true for me, but it’s nothing without our friends on that journey. So, thanks for being a friend.

Hugs and happy reading,

Nancy

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “How can I help?

  1. Lovely post Nancy. We all need to help each other.

    Like

    • Yep! Speaking of which…
      Hey friends…Anita’s debut novel came out the same time as Sweet Tea and Secrets. Awaken the Highland Warrior is hard to pass by. That guy on the cover…OMG….now that’s someone you want to wake up with 🙂 A man from another time, an inherited treasure map, and a mission to save the world. She’s written a wonderful story you won’t be able to put down.

      Hugs, Anita. I’m so glad we’re on this journey together.

      Like

  2. Great post Nancy!!! Thanks for sharing and for keeping me up to date. If you come up for air 🙂 please send me bookmarks or postcards and I’ll distribute when I talk around the country. If you need my snail mail address just let me know Mary@MaryBuckham.com. Celebrating and cheering on your success!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Hugs ~~ Mary B 🙂

    Like

  3. jennymilch

    I wish you the best of luck, Nancy! Am clicking like and telling friends!

    Like

Leave a Reply

