Reader Author Get-Togethers

Reader Author get-togethers are becoming more and more popular and I for one am thrilled about that.

They come in several varieties from a dessert party, afternoon tea, luncheon to a weekend-filled-with-fun escape like the annual Lori Foster Reader Author Get Together. I attended Lori’s event June 1-4th in West Chester, Ohio. Conveniently located near Cincinnati at the Marriott this event had over 500 attendees this year. It’s a casual array of events where you  feel comfortable chatting with your favorite author and jumping in on conversations about books. Aside from book signings there are games (I won a bottle of chocolate wine in the Pictionary game — since I don’t drink wine I handed it over to some blogger buddies headed back to Charlotte, NC), photo opportunities, raffles and give-aways. Most of these events work closely with their local libraries and/or charities and make it a fundraiser too. The 2012 Lori Foster RAGT raised money for One Way Farm and the Animal Assistance Foundation. I did my share of supporting through the purchase of 100’s of raffle tickets. Did I win anything? Nope, but I sure had lots of fun reconnecting with friends from last year, making new friends this year and schmoozing with some of my favorite authors like Jill Shalvis, Carly Phillips, Lori Foster, Duffy Brown, Toni Blake and a list too long to write here!  If you want to see who all was in attendance you can visit www.lorifoster.com

I’m going to start a list of reader-author events and keep it on my website to help more folks find and enjoy the opportunity to hang out with their favorite authors and make friends with like-minded readers. If you know of one … send me the information and I’ll add it to my list.

Hugs and happy reading~

Leave a comment

Filed under Out of Focus, SWEET TEA AND SECRETS

Leave a Reply

