Happy Accident or Santa at Work?

This is my first Christmas without Mr. Mike and it’s hard…different…uncharted territory. I mean, we spent over 25 Christmases together. Anyway, I said to someone earlier this week that sometimes it felt like just yesterday that Mike passed and other days (like lately) it feels like a decade since I’ve had a hug.

Well…today UPS dropped off three boxes on my doorstep. In the first box there was a lovely gift from a reader friend. The next contained a PajamaGram – okay I admit that I ordered the PajamaGram for myself because when other girls get stressed and shop for shoes…well I shop for jammies. They make me feel better. And then another box from VTB. No idea what that one was. So, I open the box and it’s a teddy bear wearing a pretty red sweater that says Ellie’s Bear on it. No card. I didn’t order it. I lift the bear out and he’s reaching for a hug. So I hold him in my arms and proceed to the phone to call and report poor missing Ellie’s bear. Well, Vermont Teddy Bear company was busy for a Christmas Eve afternoon so Ellie’s Bear sat on my lap while we waited patiently on hold to try to find out where he was really supposed to end up.

bear

Turns out … PajamaGram is owned by the same folks as Vermont Teddy Bear. I offered to send Ellie’s Bear directly to the correct recipient or back to them to get to the rightful owner. With some further checking it turns out Ellie was getting her bear and they’d accidentally sent a duplicate Ellie’s bear to me. The sweet gal on the phone told me to keep the bear and have a Merry Christmas.

So, thanks Vermont Teddy Bear company for the sweet bear and the much needed hug at just the right time.

I’m not sure if it was a happy accident or Santa at work…but it sure did make for a nice surprise. The magic of Christmas is still in the air…AND I’m not usually the stuffed animal kind of gal but would ya look at this face. Too cute.

BEARFACE

Hugs and Happy Christmas Eve.

Nancy

Love stories from the crossroads of small town and suspense ~ www.NancyNaigle.com

5 Comments

Filed under holidays

5 responses to “Happy Accident or Santa at Work?

  1. I think your new friend was exactly what you needed……..he just have known it’s been along time since you has a hug and was sent to you for that reason and that reason alone! Hang in there Nancy…….Merry Christmas!

    Like

  2. I think your new friend was exactly what you needed……..he must have known it’s been along time since you has a hug and was sent to you for that reason and that reason alone! Hang in there Nancy…….Merry Christmas!

    Like

  3. Now that I can see again to type…that’s so wonderful and just what you needed. ❤

    Like

  4. Sharlene Wegner

    Glad you got your little hug. Wishing you peace on this Christmas Day! Merry Christmas!

    Like

  5. slblakeway

    Love works in mysterious ways. Maybe Mike knew you were missing his hugs and arranged for you to get the next best thing…a teddy bear hug. 🙂 Merry Christmas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

